Google Plus Subscribe on Youtube!

Specials and Email Promotions

877-283-2122

888-486-3249

Find A Tee Time

Golf Course Reviews

Since the inception of the Myrtle Beach Golf Insider in 2009, Wild Wing Plantation has consistently been among the Grand Strand's highest-rated golf courses in terms of service, course condition and aesthetics/playablility.

Check out the most recent reviews below to see what your fellow golfers have been saying about their Wild Wing experience!

OVERALL SCORE: [ 8.02]

  • Tees:
    [8]
  • Greens:
    [8]
  • Fairways:
    [8]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [7]
  • Staff:
    [8]
Based on 701 reviews »

Last 20 Reviews from Myrtle Beach Golf Insider



Gordon (Stuarts Draft, VA) on 05/19/2016:
"Loved the greens! Everyone was very accomodating."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.33]
  • Tees:
    [10]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [10]
  • Grill:
    [6]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Steve on 05/17/2016:
"Poor course management. Play was backed up and on a turn we discovered the 3-some in front of us were fishing! They brought a fishing rod, complete with worm, and would wait for the green to clear before teeing off - even on a par-5. Why would the cart manager load a cart with a fishing pole in the bag!? Should have been made to leave the fishing pole and worm in the clubhouse or in their car. After the starter checked us onto the course, we did not see a marshal all day until I finally called the pro shop to complain. In the mean time the 4-some behind us had hit into us (about 2 feet from where we were putting on the green). Not once but 2 times they hit within 2 feet of our position. When the course is filled - Avocet must manage the play. For $70 a round, one would expect to see a course marshal and least on every 9 holes. I would not recommend this course unless you bring a helmet to thwart balls being hit into you and you are ready for a 6 hour round."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 4.83]
  • Tees:
    [5]
  • Greens:
    [5]
  • Fairways:
    [6]
  • Proshop:
    [5]
  • Grill:
    [5]
  • Staff:
    [3]
Ted (Johnstown, PA) on 05/13/2016:
"Awesome course. Awesome condition!!!"
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.33]
  • Tees:
    [10]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [10]
  • Grill:
    [6]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Marvin (Tampa, FL) on 05/05/2016:
"Course was very wet due to rainy conditions last couple days and we got rained out but Pro Shop gave us full rain check."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 8.67]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [9]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [7]
  • Staff:
    [9]
Kenneth (Tequesta, FL) on 05/03/2016:
"Pro Shop and guys at bag drop were very nice and helpful, as was the starter and the ranger. Golf course is decent but really needs much work! Cart paths on the back 9 are horrendous! No restrooms on back 9? Really!?"
OVERALL SCORE: [ 6.83]
  • Tees:
    [3]
  • Greens:
    [7]
  • Fairways:
    [7]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [6]
  • Staff:
    [9]
Bruce on 05/02/2016:
"Nice course but horrible pace of play. Starting on the 3rd hole, when spacing between tee times became moot, we waited several minutes on EVERY shot. When we got to (literally) every tee, group ahead was either still waiting to hit or were just teeing off. That is with marshals coming around quite often. We had a lightning delay on 12 where marshal held up play, but irrespective of that, it was a 5 1/2 hour round (lightning delay extended it to over 6 hours). Unacceptable!!!"
OVERALL SCORE: [ 3.83]
  • Tees:
    [4]
  • Greens:
    [5]
  • Fairways:
    [4]
  • Proshop:
    [5]
  • Grill:
    [2]
  • Staff:
    [3]
Michael (Brighton, MI) on 04/24/2016:
"Greens and fairways and tees all were in great shape. Pace was good and friendly people. Thanks for great day."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 8.67]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [9]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [7]
  • Staff:
    [9]
Erik (Worcester, MA) on 04/20/2016:
"Great course and layout was amazing. My first Myrtle Beach experience was amazing."
OVERALL SCORE: [10.00]
  • Tees:
    [10]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [10]
  • Grill:
    [10]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Gif on 03/31/2016:
"Wild Wing should be on everyone's must-play list when in the Myrtle Beach area. Excellent playing conditions friendly staff and many different tee location to suit all levels of players."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.67]
  • Tees:
    [10]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [10]
  • Grill:
    [8]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Bob F. on 03/27/2016:
"A review of both Avocet and Hummingbird the a note that the only thing from keeping the rating down a bit is their neglect for the Hummingbird 9 hole course. AVOCET - Just flat our a great golf course. Conditions were outstanding. The tees and fairways were manicured well and the greens were firm, fast, and in great condition. This is a course to put on your list in Myrtle Beach. It is a challenging course however. Players of higher handicaps should be careful of what tees they play. On the day we played there was a great ranger out on the course checking carefully on the pace of play. He even made a group switch tees and move up. I am sure their egos were not happy with the move but it was what was needed. The course layout offers everything, including a drive-able par 4 and a reachable par 5. Because there are only a handful of courses in the world that should be a perfect 10 for a rating, Avocet earns a 9.5 HUMMINGBIRD - What a shame for this course. Hummingbird is a great 9 holes with an extremely challenging layout (from the back tees) but the course has been totally neglected. It is truly a shame because this could be a great course, especially for golf fanatics in Myrtle Beach who want to play 27. The tees were ok, the fairways below average, the bunkers un-edged, not groomed and they didn't even have rakes, and the greens were just downright horrible with bare spots, weeds, and very slow. Wild Wing - please invest some needed maintenance dollars in this course before it is too late. In addition, please invest in some new distance markers for the tee and take down the ones no longer applicable. WILD WING PLANTATION - As a package, Wild Wing is a great complex. Proshop is a 9, Bar & Restaurant a 9, Avocet Course is a 9.5 only because a 10 has to be reserved for the absolute best, and Hummingbird may be a 2 at best. Be sure to make Avocet a stop on your list and be sure to encourage the plantation to restore Hummingbird to its former glory."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.00]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [9]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [9]
  • Staff:
    [9]
Mike(Oneida,NY) on 03/17/2016:
"This course was in fantastic condition. Greens roll great and the fairways are pristine. Staff very friendly. Definitely be back, women enjoyed also. We had four tee times and everything went well."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.50]
  • Tees:
    [10]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [9]
  • Staff:
    [9]
Skip on 03/15/2016:
"Course is in great shape. Staff was courteous and friendly. Beverage cart service was the best we had in 4 days of golf. We saw Katie more times in one round than the others put together. Avocet definitely a course we will play every visit to MB."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.00]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [6]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Skip on 03/15/2016:
"Course is in great shape. Staff was courteous and friendly. Beverage cart service was the best we had in 4 days of golf. We saw Katie more times in one round than the others put together. Avocet definitely a course we will play every visit to MB."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.00]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [6]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Steve on 03/09/2016:
"I played here the last day of my trip to Myrtle Beach and I was delightfully pleased to have saved the best for last. The course was in immaculate shape and significantly better than the other courses I had played. The staff was helpful and courteous, as well as very friendly. Will definitely make this a permanent stop on future trips."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.33]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [9]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Cottle on 03/09/2016:
"Absolutely loved the course. The greens and fairways were in superb conditions and the course have a fantastic layout. It plays long but rewards good shots. The pro shop and outside staff were very helpful and friendly. I will definitely be back."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.50]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [9]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Danny on 03/09/2016:
"Course is in great shape!"
OVERALL SCORE: [10.00]
  • Tees:
    [10]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [10]
  • Grill:
    [10]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Michael on 03/09/2016:
"This is always a regular stop for my group every year. The course is consistently in great shape and the staff is very friendly. We love how there is no homes out on the course, it is very scenic. I recommend the Avocet course at Wild Wing to anyone heading to Myrtle Beach. Also, this year they informed me that they have started happy hour in the pub everyday at 4pm. We got off the course and enjoyed some cheap drafts and a very good cheeseburger!"
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.00]
  • Tees:
    [8]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [9]
  • Staff:
    [9]
Greg on 03/07/2016:
"First time playing this course and it will not be the last. It was excellent! conditions were good. It was a fair test of golf. Fairways were wide enough so that if you hit an errant shot, you were not in jail. Greens rolled smooth and were quick. Pro shop staff was very professional. Did not eat at grill so cannot comment on that part"
OVERALL SCORE: [ 8.83]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [10]
  • Grill:
    [5]
  • Staff:
    [10]
David on 03/06/2016:
"Great course, great staff."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.00]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [9]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [9]
  • Staff:
    [9]
Carl on 03/06/2016:
"Course was in great shape, staff was very professional. Would absolutely come back again!"
OVERALL SCORE: [ 8.83]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [9]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [8]
  • Staff:
    [9]
See All 701 reviews »